top of page

Greene County Board of Supervisors

Greene County is governed by five elected District Supervisors.  Supervisors are elected to four-year terms by citizens in their district.  While each Supervisor represents his or her district, all the members are expected to look after the good of Greene County as a whole. 


Counties exist to help make the lives of its citizens better. County governments do this by providing needed services, such as healthcare, schools, libraries and so on. They also establish important local laws (ordinances) and enforce laws that protect citizens. They also encourage citizens and businesses to get involved in their communities.

Permanently Scheduled Events

Greene Board of Supervisors Meeting the first and third Monday of each month at 9:00 am.

If that Monday is a holiday, the meeting is Tuesday the next day at 9:00 am.

The Greene County supervisors provide leadership over critical policy areas, including policies necessary to ensure safe communities, construction & maintenance of roads and bridges, protect public health, promote economic development, and plan and manage land use for sustainable development.  Supervisors also provide important oversight of county operations, including managing strategies to promote sound fiscal management and to develop a high-quality county government workforce.  

  • Adopt an annual budget

  • Establish the annual property tax rate

  • Set policies, goals, and objectives to direct the county's growth and development

  • Adopt and provide for ordinances, rules, and regulations as necessary for the general welfare of the County

  • Carry out other responsibilities set forth by Mississippi State statutes

At the beginning of each year, the Board chooses from its members a president and a vice president to serve during the following year. The president presides at Board meetings and signs documents in the name of the county. The vice president substitutes when the president is absent.

bottom of page